All The Sapphic Books I’ve Ever Read // Part One

This post was originally posted on tomesofourlives on July 28, 2019 and can be found here.

This post is just the first in a series called “All The Sapphic Books I’ve Ever Read” in which I will talk about the sapphic books I have read recently. These will normally be 25 books long, but this one is three short at 22.

Now, onto the books.

I. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

campostbook
  • What’s it about? This is a coming of age story that follows Cameron Post at three stages of her life: the summer her parents died, her time in public high school, and her time at a conversion therapy school.
  • Do I recommend it? YES. I cannot recommend this book or talk about how much I love it enough. It is wonderful and I want everyone to read it (but completely understand that the content is too much for some).
  • You might not like it if conversion therapy is a trigger for you, you don’t like character driven novels, you don’t like minor (non-explicit) sex scenes between underaged characters, you don’t like drug or alchol use by underaged characters.

II. Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour*

*that’s right, I finally read it, someone give me a high five

elty
  • What’s it about? Emi is an intern at a movie studio working on set design when she stumbles upon a letter from a late actor that reveals he had a secret daughter and becomes determined to find his daughter – and then his granddaughter.
  • Do I recommend it? Yeah! It is nothing life changing, but it is really cute and sweet and I enjoyed it. I kind of wish it was longer, actually.
  • You might not like it if you don’t like books with somewhat unrealistic plot points (no high school senior is really going to have a set role like Emi does – at least I highly doubt it), you don’t like character driven books, you aren’t into Hollywood/L.A. vibes.

III. Once & Future by Amy Rose Capetta and Cori McCarthy

o&f
  • What’s it about? This is a King Arthur retelling but set in the distant future where Arthur is a girl and also a lot of people are gay.
  • Do I recommend it? Eh. This wasn’t bad per say, but it wasn’t my cup of tea either. I’d suggest looking into other reviews.
  • You might not like it if you don’t like sci-fi, writing is a big thing you care about, you don’t like retellings.

IV. Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

gp&off
  • What’s it about? Jo is a preacher’s daughter who has to go back in the closet when her dad and new step mother move to a conservative part of Georgia.
  • Do I recommend it? Only if you want a book that deals with sexuality and religion, otherwise not really tbh.
  • You might not like it if there are so many reasons I don’t want to list them.

V. Bingo Love by Tee Franklin

bl
  • What’s it about? This graphic novel follows Hazel and Mari as they start having a fling in their teens and then reconnect later in life.
  • Do I recommend it? Yeah! I had a few problems with it, but overall it is a cute, short, and sweet graphic novel.
  • You may not like it if you don’t like dubious cheating, flash forwards in time, key information being left out.

VI. Ask Me How I Got Here by Christine Heppermann

amigh
  • What’s it about? This is a book in verse that follows a girl who has an abortion as she copes with the after effects of said abortion.
  • Do I recommend it? I recommend you look more into it to see if it is for you.
  • You may not like it if you don’t like books in verse, don’t like dubious cheating, are sensitive to abortion and other heavy topics.

VII. Honor Girl by Maggie Thrash

honorgirl
  • What’s it about? In this graphic memoir, Thrash recounts her summer at an all girl’s camp when she started to crush on one of the counselors.
  • Do I recommend it? Yeah, but I am not going to scream about it, if that makes sense? Like it isn’t bad but it it isn’t a spectacular must read.
  • You may not like it if you don’t like graphic novels, you have high standards for art in graphic novels, you don’t like memoirs.

VIII. How to Make a Wish by Ashley Herring Blake

htmaw
  • What’s it about? This summer-ish contemporary follows Grace and Eva as they bond over missing mothers and other things.
  • Do I recommend it? Yeah! It is very cute and sweet among other things.
  • You might not like it if you don’t like books that deal with heavy topics, you don’t like reading about the loss of parents and/or loved ones, you don’t like or are triggered by very unstable home situations.

IX. All the Worlds Between Us by Morgan Lee Miller

atwbu
  • What’s it about? Quinn is a world class swimmer trying to keep up her grades and beat her own times to make it to the Olympic trials but finds herself distracted when she rekindles a friendship and then something more with her old best friend.
  • Do I recommend it? Yes! This was very sweet and is very underrated and I would like to see more people’s opinions.
  • You might not like it if you don’t like minor (non-explicit) sex scenes between minors, forced outing, or underaged drinking.

X. Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki

ldkbuwm
  • What’s it about? This graphic novel deals with a bunch of important topics like the important of friendship and how dangerous toxic relationships can be and it is just really good, okay?
  • Do I recommend it? YES.
  • You may not like it if you don’t like graphic novels.

XI. On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden

oas
  • What’s it about? A kick-ass space crew that does space crew things. (No one ever hire me to write summaries ever).
  • Do I recommend it? Yes!! It is super cute and super pretty and I love it.
  • You might not like it if you don’t like graphic novels or you don’t like sci-fi.

XII. Spinning by Tillie Walden

spinning
  • What’s it about? This graphic memoir tells the story of Walden’s time in figure skating.
  • Do I recommend it? Yep.
  • You might not like it if you don’t like graphic novels or you don’t like memoirs.

XIII. We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

wao
  • What’s it about? This novel follows Marin as she reconnects with her best friend from childhood during the winter break of her freshman year of college.
  • Do I recommend it? Yes!!!!
  • You might not like it it if you don’t like heavy books or you don’t like character driven books.

XIV. The Love & Lies of Ruksana Ali by Sabina Khan

tlalora
  • What’s it about? This book follows Rukhsana, a closet girl in a very conservative family as she navigates her relationship with her girlfriend among other things.
  • Do I recommend it? Yes, with the footnote that this is gets very very dark and very violent and the homophobia is bad, so only read it if you are ready and can emotionally handle that.
  • You might not like this if you don’t like heavy books or you are a person who puts a big emphasis on writing styles.

XV. Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

ofas
  • What’s it about? Two princesses falling in love. Also other things but let’s be real, that was what most of my focus was on.
  • Do I recommend it? Yeah, this was super fun.
  • You may not like it if you don’t like fantasy or don’t like fantasy without very good world building.

XVI. As I Descended by Robin Talley

aid
  • What’s it about? This is a Macbeth retelling but with gay girls. It kind of scared me and creeped me out so I didn’t hyper focus on it enough to tell you more than that.
  • Do I recommend it? If you are into horror and creepy things.
  • You might not like it if you don’t like horror or creepy things.

XVII. Colorblind by Siera Maley

cb
  • What’s it about? Harper has the ability to see the age people die by looking at the forehead. When she meets and starts to crush on a girl that has less than a year to live, she has to confront loss and death all over again.
  • Do I recommend it? Yes! It is very good and it made me feel things.
  • You might not like this if you don’t like books that deal with the concept of death a lot.

XVII. Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan

gopaf
  • What’s it about? Visit the goodreads link above to read the official summary because I have been trying to come up with one for five minutes and basically all I’ve got is “bad king but pretty girls” and uhhh that’s not really it tbh.
  • Do I recommend it? Yeah, a lot of other people really enjoyed it! It was kind of just eh for me, but I think that is a me thing.
  • You might not like this if you are not into high fantasy or are easily confused (*cough* me *cough*).

XVIII. Chasing Sunset by Missouri Vaun

chasingsunset.jpg
  • What’s it about? Iris and Finn take a road trip from Georgia to L.A. and grow feelings for each other along the way.
  • Do I recommend it? Eh. I am posting a full review soon if you want to hear more of my thoughts.
  • You might not like this if you aren’t into adult romance or books with lots of somewhat explicit sex scenes.

XIX. Carmilla by Kim Turrisi

carmilla
  • What’s it about? A creepy college where weird creepy things are happening also a lot of people are gay.
  • Do I recommend it? Honestly, just go watch the web series, it is much more entertaining.
  • You might not like this if honestly there are a lot of reasons.

XX. Moonstruck, Vol I. by Grace Ellis

moonstruck
  • What’s it about? I literally read this like three days ago and don’t remember, if that tells you anything.
  • Do I recommend it? Eh.
  • You might not like this if you don’t like graphic novels or you don’t like things with little to no plot (or at least a plot that makes sense).

XXI. Redwood and Ponytail by K.A. Holt

rwapt
  • What’s it about? This novel, which is told in verse, follows two middle school girls as they discover and then confront their sexualalities after developing crushes on each other.
  • Do I recommend it? Yes! It was super cute and make me feel things.
  • You might not like this if you don’t like middle grade or books told in verse.

XXII. soft in the middle by Shelby Eileen

sitm
  • What’s it about? This is a poetry collection that deals with body image, relationships, and more.
  • Do I recommend it? Eh.
  • You might not like this if you don’t like poetry.

2 thoughts on “All The Sapphic Books I’ve Ever Read // Part One

Leave a comment